HR Alerts

HR Solutions Partners now offers Human Resources Alerts updated twice a day. Get the information you need - when you need it.

As an HRSPI client you can receive these alerts, along with Health Care Reform Updates, directly. You will also receive our eNewsletters with valuable information for anyone managing Human Resources. On top of all that you get free access to our client portal powered by HR360.

Alerts for OctoberTop Of Page

California Strengthens Lactation Accommodation Protections

California has adopted a new law that strengthens lactation accommodation protections for employees. The new law becomes effective on Jan. 1, 2020 and is similar to San Francisco’s lactation accommodation law.

South Dakota Announces 2020 Minimum Wage Rate

The South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation announced that the state minimum wage rate will increase $9.30 per hour on Jan. 1, 2020.

Vermont Announces 2020 Minimum Wage Rate

Vermont has announced that the state minimum wage rate will increase to $10.96 per houron Jan. 1, 2020.

DOL Proposes to Amend Employee Tip Regulations

On Oct. 8, 2019, the U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) published a proposed rule to amend employee tip regulations under the Fair Labor Standards Act.

Montana Announces 2020 Minimum Wage Rate

On Sep. 30, 2019, the Montana Department of Labor and Industry announced that the state minimum wage rate will increase from $8.50 to $8.65 per hour.

Ohio Announces 2020 Minimum Wage Rate

New Rate Becomes Effective on Jan. 1 Ohio has announced a new minimum wage rate of $8.70 per hour for nonexempt employees. The state minimum wage rate applies to employers that gross $319,000 per year or more. The

Alaska Announces 2020 Minimum Wage Rate

New Rate Becomes Effective on Jan. 1 The state of Alaska has announced a minimum wage rate of $10.19 per hour for 2020. The minimum wage in the state is adjusted annually using the Consumer Price Index for urban consumers

California Adopts New Worker Classification Standard

California has adopted a new law that changes the process for determining whether a worker should be classified as an employee or independent contractor.

Alerts for SeptemberTop Of Page

DOL Issues New Salary Limits for Overtime Exemptions

On Sept. 24, 2019, the U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) announced a new final rule that updates the salary thresholds that some individuals must meet in order to qualify for a minimum wage and overtime exemption under the federal Fair Labors Standards Act (FLSA).

Reminder: Sept. 30 and Oct. 1 are Key Massachusetts PFML Deadlines

The end of the month marks important employer deadlines for Massachusetts Paid Family and Medical Leave (PFML).

Minnesota Announces $10 State Minimum Wage for Large Employers

Minnesota Announces $10 State Minimum Wage for Large Employers

New York State Requires Employee Leave for Domestic Violence Victims

New York state has amended its Human Rights Law, effective Nov. 18, 2019, to require employers to provide leave to employees whom the employer knows are victims of domestic violence.

Reminder: Medicare Part D Notices Are Due Before Oct. 15

Employers whose health plans offer prescription drug coverage to Medicare-eligible individuals must provide a Medicare Part D Creditable or Non-Creditable Coverage Notice to those individuals before October 15.

Illinois Expands Applicability of Discrimination Laws

A recent change in the law will expand anti-discrimination provisions to employers with at least one employee.

New York State Announces Paid Family Leave Rates for 2020

The New York State Department of Financial Services has announced that for calendar year 2020, employers may deduct 0.270% of an employee’s weekly wage, up to an annual cap of $196.72, to pay the premium cost for state paid family leave insurance.

Reminder: SAR Deadline is Sept. 30 for Form 5500 Filers

Employers required to provide plan participants with a Summary Annual Report (SAR) must do so by Sept. 30, 2019, if they sponsor calendar year plans. The SAR is a summary of the plan’s Form 5500.

Illinois Enacts Strict Workplace Harassment Laws

Effective Jan. 1, 2020, all employers in Illinois must provide annual employee training on workplace sexual harassment prevention. 

Washington Enacts Employee-Paid Long-Term Care Program

Washington state has passed legislation to establish a state-operated public insurance program for long-term care.

Reminder: EEO-1 Component 2 Reports Due Sept. 30

EEO-1 filers must submit Component 2 data (on employee compensation and hours worked) for calendar years 2017 and 2018 by Sept. 30, 2019, via a designated online portal.

California Extends Sexual Harassment Training Deadline to Jan. 1, 2021

California employers with five or more employees now have until Jan. 1, 2021, rather than Jan. 1, 2020, to comply with new sexual harassment prevention training requirements.

California Swaps Email for Web in Reporting of Serious Workplace Injuries

On Aug. 13, 2019, California adopted a new law that will require employers to report cases involving a serious injury or illness, or death to the Division of Occupational Safety and Health by phone or through a specified online mechanism that will be established by the state for this purpose. 

Oregon Adopts Equal Pay Law

Beginning Jan. 1, 2020, Oregon state law will prohibit employers from paying different wages to employees solely because they belong to a protected class.

Colorado Adopts Temporary Rules to Protect Wage and Hour Rights

On Aug. 20, 2019, Colorado adopted temporary rules to strengthen employee protections under the state’s wage and hour laws. These temporary rules are also being proposed as permanent amendments to the law.

Alerts for AugustTop Of Page

New York State Bans Salary History Inquiries

On July 10, 2019, New York enacted a new law that prohibits all employers in the state from asking job applicants and employees about their past salaries or wages.

New Jersey Bans Salary History Inquiries

New Jersey has adopted a new law that prohibits all employers in the state from asking job applicants about their past salaries or using past pay information to screen applicants for employment consideration.

Illinois Bans Salary History Inquiries

Beginning Sept. 29, 2019, Illinois employers are prohibited from requesting a job applicant's salary history.  

Illinois Adopts Video Interview Law

The Illinois Artificial Intelligence Video Interview Act applies to employers that ask applicants to record video interviews for positions based in Illinois and use artificial intelligence analysis on the video.

DOL: Employees May Use FMLA Leave for IEP Meetings

Employees may take leave under the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) to attend their child’s Individualized Education Plan (IEP) meetings, according to a recent opinion letter from the U.S. Department of Labor.

New York Expands Employee Protections Against Harassment and Discrimination

On Aug. 12, 2019, New York adopted a new series of measures that expand the scope of employee anti-harassment and anti-discrimination protections.

New York Adopts Equal Pay Law

New York Adopts Equal Pay Law

Maine Passes Expansive Paid Employee Leave Law

Maine’s earned employee leave law allows employees to earn one hour of paid leave for every 40 hours worked. This paid leave may be used for any reason.

California Expands Definition of Racial Discrimination

The California legislature has added that racial discrimination also includes discriminating on the basis of traits and characteristics that are historically associated with race.

Alerts for JulyTop Of Page

Oregon Adopts Pregnancy Accommodation Law

Oregon Adopts Pregnancy Accommodation Law

New Jersey Adds Protections for Medical Marijuana Users

New Jersey Adds Protections for Medical Marijuana Users 

New Law in Maine Provides Veterans Medical Leave

New Law in Maine Provides Veterans Medical Leave.

HDHP Preventive Care Benefits Expanded

A new IRS notice expands the list of preventive care benefits that may be covered by a high deductible health plan (HDHP) without a deductible, or with a deductible below the minimum for HDHPs.

Connecticut Enacts Paid Family and Medical Leave Law

Connecticut Enacts Paid Family and Medical Leave Law

Nevada Adopts Employee Paid Leave Law

Nevada Adopts Employee Paid Leave Law

Oregon Amends Family Leave Law to Allow Organ and Tissue Donations

Oregon Amends Family Leave Law to Allow Organ and Tissue Donations

EEO-1 Component 2 Online Filing System Opens July 15

The EEOC has announced that the online filing system for EEO 1 Component 2 data will be available for all filers July 15, 2019.

Illinois Legalizes Recreational Marijuana

Illinois legalizes recreational marijuana.

Connecticut Expands Sexual Harassment Training to All Employees

Connecticut expands sexual harassment training to all employees.

Executive Order Signals Changes to HDHPs, FSAs, and ‘Eligible Medical Expenses’

President Trump’s June 24 executive order on health care transparency addresses expanding access to high deductible health plans and flexible spending accounts, as well as broadening the definition of "eligible medical expenses."

Oklahoma Bans Marijuana in the Workplace

Smoking regulations now apply to all marijuana products.

Alerts for JuneTop Of Page

Nevada Increases Minimum Wage

Nevada increases minimum wage rate.

Alabama Enacts Law to Reduce Wage Gaps, Bar Salary History Requirements

Alabama Enacts Law to Reduce Wage Gaps, Bar Salary History Requirements

Oregon Extends Anti-Discrimination Protections

Oregon extends anti-discrimination protections.

Connecticut’s Minimum Wage Rate Will Increase to $15 by 2023

Connecticut’s Minimum Wage Rate Will Increase to $15 by 2023.

Massachusetts Delays Paid Family and Medical Leave

Massachusetts Delays Paid Family and Medical Leave. Employers must begin collecting contributions on Oct. 1, 2019.

Nevada Employers Can’t Deny Employment Because of Positive Marijuana Test

Nevada has adopted a new law that prohibits employers from failing or refusing to hire an applicant because of the applicant’s positive marijuana drug test result.

Colorado Limits Criminal History Inquiries

Effective Sept. 1, 2019, job postings and applications may not exclude applicants with criminal histories.

Final Rule Allows HRAs that Reimburse Individual Health Premiums

A final rule lets all employers offer health reimbursement arrangements (HRAs) to pay for employees’ individual health insurance policy premiums, under certain conditions.

HIPAA Enforcement Guidance Issued for Business Associates

The U.S. Department of Health & Human Services' (HHS) Office for Civil Rights (OCR) has issued a fact sheet explaining when a business associate can be directly liable for compliance with the HIPAA Privacy, Security, Breach Notification, and Enforcement Rules.

Colorado Extends Smoking Prohibitions to Electronic Products

Colorado has amended its workplace smoking prohibition to include a ban on electronic smoking devices, effective July 1.

Colorado Prohibits Wage Discrimination and Salary History Inquiries

On May 22, 2019, Colorado enacted the Equal Pay for Equal Work Act.

Colorado Requires Employers to Notify Patrons of Tip-Pooling Practice

Beginning August 2, 2019, employers can implement a tip-pooling system among their employees only if they notify patrons, in writing, that a tip-pooling arrangement exists in the establishment.

Sexual Harassment Training is Now Mandatory in Washington

Sexual harassment training is now mandatory in Washington for hotels, motels, retail establishments, security guard entities and property service contractors.

Westchester Co. in New York Adopts Paid ‘Safe Time Leave’ Law

Beginning Oct. 30, 2019, in addition to paid sick time, employers in New York’s Westchester County, will need to provide up to 40 hours of paid leave to employees who are victims of domestic

Alerts for MayTop Of Page

Maine Employers Prohibited From Asking for Applicants’ Social Security Numbers

Beginning January 1, 2020, Maine employers can ask for an applicant’s Social Security number only for substance abuse testing or pre-employment screening purposes.

Oregon Extends Lactation Break Requirements

Beginning Sept. 29, 2019, all Oregon employers will need to provide reasonable accommodations to lactating employees.

Tennessee Restricts Immunity to Positive Drug Test Results to Six Months

New Law Effective May 10, 2019 On May 10, 2019, Tennessee restricted the immunity for employees who test positive to a drug test because of the use of prescribed medications. Under the new law, immunity covers only medications prescribed during

IRS Releases 2020 Health Savings Account Limits

The IRS has announced the 2020 inflation adjusted amounts for Health Savings Accounts (HSAs) as determined under the Internal Revenue Code. Annual Contribution Limitation For calendar year 2020, the

Maryland Adopts Organ and Bone Marrow Donation Employee Leave

New Law Effective October 1, 2019 Maryland has a new law that provides employees up to 60 days of leave for organ donation or 30 days of leave for bone marrow donation. To qualify for this leave,

New York City Bans Pre-employment Marijuana Screening

New York City has enacted an ordinance that prohibits employers from requiring job applicants to submit to pre-employment marijuana testing, effective May 10, 2020.

Washington Bans Wage and Salary Inquiries for Job Applicants

Washington has adopted a new law, effective July 28, 2019, that prohibits employers from seeking information about an applicant's wage or salary history.

Florida Prohibits Vaping in Enclosed Workspaces

Florida has amended its smoking laws to prohibit vaping, as well as smoking (which was already prohibited), in enclosed indoor workplaces.

Arizona Amends Mini-COBRA Law to Apply to Fewer Employers

Beginning July 27, 2019, Arizona employers with 1-19 employees that offer a fully insured group health insurance plan will be required to comply with the state’s mini-COBRA law.

Oklahoma Extends Voting Leave to In-person Absentee Voting

On May 6, 2019, Oklahoma amended its voting leave law to require employers to allow employees 2 hours of leave to cast their ballots on the day of an election or on a day legally designated as an absentee voting day.

San Francisco Minimum Wage to Increase July 1

Starting July 1, 2019, the minimum wage rate in San Francisco will increase to $15.59 per hour.

San Francisco Minimum Wage Increase

Starting July 1, 2019, the minimum wage rate in San Francisco will increase to $15.59 per hour.

EEOC Will Collect 2017 and 2018 Pay Data

The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (“EEOC”) is advising employers subject to the EEO-1 filing requirement to begin preparing to submit Component 2 data for calendar year 2017.

NM: New Law Limits Adverse Employer Actions on Medical Marijuana

Under a new law, effective June 14, 2019, New Mexico employers are generally prohibited from taking an adverse employment action against an applicant or employee based on conduct allowed under the state medical marijuana law.

New Mexico Employers Prohibited From Making Certain Arrest and Conviction Inquiries

Under a new law, New Mexico employers generally may not inquire about an applicant’s arrest or conviction history on a written or electronic employment application.

Alerts for AprilTop Of Page

Employers Must Report EEO-1 Pay Data by September 30

EEO-1 filers should begin preparing to submit information about their employees’ 2018 pay and work hours ("Component 2" data)  by September 30, 2019.

Maine Employers May Not Inquire About Prospective Employees’ Compensation History

Under a new law, Maine employers are generally prohibited from using or inquiring about a prospective employee’s compensation history from him or her or a current or former employer.

Clarifying California's Sexual Harassment Prevention Training Requirements

In 2018, California passed new sexual harassment prevention training requirements that impact California employers with 5 or more employees. To clear up misconceptions regarding those requirements, read this quick summary.

NM: Employers Must Soon Permit Employees to Use Sick Leave for Family Member Care

Under a new law, all New Mexico employers that provide employees with sick leave will generally be required to permit them to use the leave to care for family members, effective June 14, 2019.

Westchester County, NY Releases Key Information on Sick Leave Law

Westchester County, NY has released important new guidance on its sick leave law.

Many New Jersey Employers Must Soon Offer Pre-Tax Transportation Benefits

Under a new law, New Jersey employers with 20 or more employees will soon be required to offer pre-tax transportation benefits to their employees.

New York Employers Must Now Provide 3 Hours of Paid Voting Leave

As a result of a new law, New York employers must provide 3 hours of paid voting leave to their employees for any election. Additionally, employees must notify their employers of their need for time off to vote at least 2 working days before Election Day.

New Mexico Minimum Wage to Increase on January 1, 2020

The New Mexico minimum wage will increase on January 1, 2020.

Massachusetts: Certain Paid Family and Medical Leave Requirements Begin July 1, 2019

Massachusetts has released guidance explaining upcoming employer requirements for the state’s Paid Family and Medical Leave (PFML) law.

Maryland Minimum Wage to Increase on January 1, 2020

The Maryland minimum wage will increase on January 1, 2020.

Alerts for MarchTop Of Page

DOL Proposes Changes to Federal Overtime Pay Exemptions

The U.S. Department of Labor is proposing to change the minimum salary that administrative, computer, executive, professional, and "highly compensated" employees must receive in order to be exempt from overtime pay under federal law.

Alerts for FebruaryTop Of Page

More Employers to Be Subject to NJ Family Leave Act

Effective June 30, 2019, New Jersey's Family Leave Act will apply to employers with as few as 30 employees worldwide, down from the current 50-employee threshold.

Reminder: Creditable Coverage Disclosures Due to CMS by March 1 for Calendar-Year Plans

Employers that offer prescription drug coverage to Medicare-eligible individuals via acalendar-year plan generally must complete an online disclosure to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) by March 1.

Illinois Minimum Wage to Increase Twice in 2020

The minimum wage rate applicable to most employers in Illinois will increase twice in 2020.

Michigan Releases New Minimum Wage and Paid Sick Leave Posters

In response to new minimum wage and paid sick leave laws, Michigan has released new minimum wage and paid sick leave posters for Michigan employers to display in a conspicuous place accessible to employees.

New Jersey Minimum Wage to Increase on July 1

Certain New Jersey minimum wage rates will increase on July 1, 2019.

DOL Releases New Model Employer CHIP Notice

The U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) has released a new model Employer CHIP Notice with information current as of January 31, 2019.

EEO-1 Reporting Deadline Pushed Back to May 31

The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) has pushed back the deadline by which employers are required to submit their 2018 EEO-1 data to May 31, 2019.

Alerts for JanuaryTop Of Page

Electronic Submission of OSHA Form 300 and 301 Data No Longer Required

The federal Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) has rescinded its requirement that establishments with 250 or more employees annually electronically submit information from their OSHA Forms 300 and 301 to the agency.

DOL Increases Group Health Plan Notice Distribution Penalties

The U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) has increased the penalties employers face for failing to furnish a Summary Plan Description (SPD), Summary of Benefits and Coverage (SBC), and Employer Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) Notice.

Michigan's Minimum Wage to Increase on March 29, 2019

The Michigan state legislature has announced that the effective date for the upcoming increase to the state's minimum wage is March 29, 2019.

Michigan's Paid Sick Leave Law Becomes Effective on March 29, 2019

The Michigan state legislature has announced that the state's paid sick leave law will become effective on March 29, 2019.

Federal Income Tax Filing Season Begins January 28

The IRS will begin processing 2018 federal income tax returns on January 28, 2019.

Reminder: Post OSHA Form 300A Starting Feb. 1

Employers subject to OSHA's recordkeeping requirements are reminded to post their 2018 OSHA Form 300A from February 1–April 30, 2019.

Creditable Coverage Disclosures Due to CMS by March 1 for Calendar-Year Plans

Employers that offer prescription drug coverage to Medicare-eligible individuals via a calendar-year plan generally must complete an online disclosure to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) by March 1.

Alerts for DecemberTop Of Page

OSHA Form 300A Electronic Submission Deadline is March 2

Employers are reminded that they may be required to electronicallysubmit information from their 2018 OSHA Forms 300A to OSHA by March 2, 2019.

Michigan: Minimum Wage Increase Coming in Early 2019, But Effective Date Unknown

On a date yet to be determined in early 2019, Michigan employers will generally be required to pay a minimum wage of at least $9.45 per hour to their regular employees and $3.60 per hour to their tipped employees.

DC: New Sexual Harassment Prevention Training Requirement Applies to Employers of Tipped Employees

Beginning July 1, 2019, District of Columbia (DC) employers with tipped employees must comply with a new requirement to provide sexual harassment prevention training.

Michigan Amends Paid Sick Leave Law Effective in March 2019

Michigan has amended its paid sick leave law to generally require Michigan employers with 50 or more employees to provide paid sick leave to many full-time employees beginning in March 2019.

Michigan Sets New Minimum Wage Rate for 2019

Effective January 1, 2019, Michigan employers will generally be required to pay a minimum wage of at least $9.48 per hour to their regular employees and $3.56 per hour to their tipped employees.

Standard Mileage Rate to Increase in 2019

The optional standard mileage rate used to calculate the costs of operating a car, van, pickup truck, or panel truck for business purposes in 2019 will be 58 cents per mile.

Reminder: New California Sexual Harassment Prevention Training Requirement Effective in 2020

By January 1, 2020, California employers with as few as 5 employees must comply with a new sexual harassment training prevention requirement.

Washington Employers Must Collect Paid Family and Medical Leave Premiums Starting Jan. 1

While paid family and medical leave (PFML) benefits do not become payable to employees until 2020, beginning January 1, 2019, Washington employers must start withholding PFML premiums equal to 0.4% of the employee’s gross wage from each employee's paycheck.

Delaware Releases Required Sexual Harassment Information Sheet

Delaware has released the sexual harassment information sheet that Delaware employers must begin distributing to employees in 2019.

Alerts for NovemberTop Of Page

NY: Minimum Salary for Administrative and Executive Overtime Exemptions Will Increase

The minimum salary required for administrative and executive employees to be exempt from overtime pay in New York State is set to increase.

Westchester County, NY Passes Sick Leave Law

Westchester County, NY has passed a sick leave law.

2019 QSEHRA Contribution Limit Announced

The IRS has announced that the contribution limit for qualified small employer health reimbursement arrangements (QSEHRAs) will be $5,150 per employee and $10,450 per family in 2019.

California Adjusts Overtime Exemption for Computer Software Employees

California has adjusted the minimum compensation rates that computer software employees must be paid to be exempt from state overtime pay requirements.

Arkansas's Minimum Wage to Rise in 2019

Effective January 1, 2019, Arkansas employers with 4 or more employees will generally be required to pay a minimum wage of at least $9.25 per hour to their regular employees and $2.63 per hour to their tipped employees.

Missouri's Minimum Wage to Rise in 2019

Effective January 1, 2019, Missouri employers will generally be required to pay a minimum wage of at least $8.60 per hour to their regular employees and $4.30 per hour to their tipped employees.

Certain Wellness Program Incentive Limits to be Eliminated on Jan. 1

Pursuant to a recent court ruling, effective January 1, 2019, certain limits on wellness program incentives will no longer be enforceable by the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC).

Retirement Plan Contribution Limits Increased for 2019

The IRS has announced that the amounts employees can contribute to 401(k)s and IRAs will increase in 2019.

Many Massachusetts Employers Must Submit Health Insurance Form by Nov. 30

By November 30, Massachusetts employers with 6 or more employees must submit a Health Insurance Responsibility Disclosure (HIRD) form.

Alerts for OctoberTop Of Page

Alaska's Minimum Wage to Rise in 2019

Effective January 1, 2019, Alaska employers will generally be required to pay a minimum wage of at least $9.89 per hour to their employees.

New Jersey's Earned Paid Sick Leave Law Now In Effect

Effective October 29, 2018, New Jersey employers are generally required to provide earned paid sick leave to each employee.

New York State Increases Employee-Paid Premium Rate for Paid Family Leave

New York State has increased the employee-paid premium rate and annual cap under its Paid Family Leave law for 2019.

Close
Login to HRSPI Client Portal
Username:
Password:
Forgotten PasswordForgot Password
Executive Search Executive Search

Harrassment Prevention

HRSPI offers comprehensive, interactive, AB 1825 and SB 1343 compliant training. Programs include introduction to recent anti-bullying legislation.

Latest News

News Archives

Latest Blog

  • CA Passes Landmark Bill Remaking Gig Economy

    California legislators approved a landmark bill that requires companies like Uber and Lyft to treat contract workers as employees, a move that could reshape the gig economy. The law takes effect January 1st.

    <read more>

Blog Archives