HR Alert

New Hampshire Permits Employers to Pay Wages to Employees Weekly or Biweekly

Law Effective July 11, 2017

A new law in New Hampshire permits employers to pay employees' wages on a weekly or biweekly basis.

New Law
Under the new law, every employer must pay all wages due to employees at regular intervals not to exceed 14 days--except when permitted to pay wages less frequently as authorized by the state labor commissioner under state law--on regular paydays designated in advance by the employer and at no cost to the employee.

The commissioner may--upon written petition showing good and sufficient reason--permit payment of wages other than weekly or biweekly, except that it must be at least once each calendar month.

Additionally, the commissioner may--on a temporary basis and after showing good and sufficient reason--require payment of wages weekly. The commissioner must prescribe to the employer the terms, conditions, and duration of such temporary payments. Such restrictions are only in effect until the employer rectifies any deficiencies prescribed by the commissioner.

Background
Under state law effective prior to July 11, 2017, every employer must pay all wages due to employees within 8 days (including Sundays) after expiration of the week in which the work is performed--except when permitted to pay wages less frequently as authorized by the labor commissioner under the law--on regular paydays designated in advance by the employer and at no cost to the employee. The commissioner may--upon written petition showing good and sufficient reason--permit payment of wages less frequently than weekly, except that it must be at least once each calendar month.

Additional details are contained in the text of the new law. The new law is effective July 11, 2017.


Close
Login to HRSPI Client Portal
Username:
Password:
Forgotten PasswordForgot Password
Executive Search Executive Search

Harrassment Prevention

HRSPI offers comprehensive, interactive, AB1825-Compliant training. Programs include introduction to recent anti-bullying legislation.

Latest News

  • California Bans the Box

    AB 1008 will prohibit most public and private employers from asking applicants about criminal conviction histories until after a conditional offer of employment has been made.

    <read more>

News Archives

Latest Blog

Blog Archives